Guest Post: Britney’s Dress Smart Mom Tips

Hey guys. I’m happy to be guest posting today! I’m Brittney from A Day in the Life Too…, and I’m a mom of three young kids (ages 2, 4, & 6) AND a style blogger… and, yes, in case you’re wondering, peanut-butter-shoulder IS the new black. Or should be.

I don’t claim to be the world’s best dresser OR mother, but I have a few tips and tricks that help me be about mediocre on both counts. And I don’t know about all of you, but if I can shoot for “average,” then I figure I’m doing all right! (My husband’s favorite mantra in college was: “D’s get degrees!” Heh. He’s an engineer, and his classes were way harder than mine…) (But, no, he didn’t graduate with Ds. He’s a smarty-pants.)

Now that we’ve established I’m no overachiever but, darn it all, I’m honest, let’s begin.

Tip 1: Embrace the beachy-wave-au-natural hair love of today. Most days, I get out of the shower, put some curl and anti-frizz product in my hair, and then do whatever else I need to for the next half hour. Then, and only then, do I blow dry the rest of my hair and, as needed/time permits, I may touch up about 3-4 strands with a curling iron. Viola. Hair. Done in under 5 minutes of effort.


Tip 2: Don’t be afraid of bare legs. Unless you haven’t had time to shave (*cough* me, most days), then just throw on a pair of colored tights. Not only are they a hot item, but they’re perfect for winter/spring weather AND add a perfect pop of color in about 2 seconds. They don’t have to “match,” in fact, I think it’s better when they don’t. Just make sure they “go.” (Note: I actually did shave, so I went bare-legged…I have a pair of red tights that I purposefully excluded from this ensemble because of their matchiness. Maybe you disagree, which is the beautiful thing about personal style!)


Tip 3: Have a piece of versatile jewelry that you can throw on without thinking about it. For me, it’s my large golden boyfriend watch. If you check my blog, you’ll see I wear it at least 4-5 times a week. Because it’s easy and brainless (and the brain cells left over in my head are clinging on for dear life, so I don’t like to stress them out too much), but it’s still chunky enough to make a statement.


Tip 4: Belt it up, buttercup! Even when you don’t think you need it, a belt is almost always useful for an overall ensemble. It adds structure, definition, and visual interest.


Tip 5: Even if you’re a neutral kinda gal, adding just one pop of color goes a long way to making you look polished and fun. And, by jove, who doesn’t want to be the “fun” mom on the block? Or, at least, fool everyone into thinking you’re fun even when you’re sleep-deprived and ornery because, look, she’s got on a yellow plaid scarf or a red striped shirt.


So, they’re not rocket science, but these are a few of my tips. And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to dine on mac & cheese. Like I said: shootin’ for average. J (For more style ideas and/or mildly humorous chat, come on by my daily outfit blog: http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com.)

Happy Mommy Day!

Thanks again, Danie, for having me!

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Britney’s Dress Smart Mom Tips

  1. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll
    send this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read.

    Thanks for sharing!

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com