Everybody, Everywear: Lace and Oxfords

This month for Everybody, Everywear bloggers everywhere are wearing lace. After the voting ended, an lace was announced the winner I automatically started thinking about what lace items I had in my closet. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any lace or lace accented pieces. I guess I did have a camisole or two that have a small amount of lace trim on the neckline. In my opinion that didn’t actually count. I didn’t even have any cute lace wrapped accessories. What I did have is a lace nightie. Insert giggles, snickers, or blushing. I immediately began brainstorming on ways I could make it appropriate to wear out.I lucked out and had a nice, cool day last week. I’m talking thunderstorms the night before and only reaching 65. I was ecstatic! That meant I could layer a bandeau under and a cardigan on top. That meant I could be completely covered, yet still show off my lace.

I took advantage of the beautiful weather, and my free time by going to the park and taking pictures on the bike path. I’ve taken pictures outside before, but it isn’t nearly as nerve wracking when your husband is taking your pictures. This was my first go around with outdoor self-portraiture. I lucked out and nobody went by on the path. I just had to deal with a construction worker gawking at me from the parking lot. I hope to do this more often, now that I am home with Lyla during the day. I guess I should start reading up on Hello Monkey Face’s Self-Caught Feature. I didn’t have any issues with other passer-bys until I moved up to take accessory shots.The Scoop

Nightgown-gift, Cardigan-Walmart, Belt-NY and Co, Jeans-William Rast  for Target, Shoes-Payless

How do you deal with curious onlookers? Any outdoor self-portraiture tips?

Lace | Everybody, Everywear

13 thoughts on “Everybody, Everywear: Lace and Oxfords

    • Thanks Melissa. These jeans will be forever cuffed. They are too long, but they fit my bump. I figure I would pass them on to my mom after the baby is born. I’m just glad cuffed jeans is in style.

  1. First off, I love how resourceful you are. I have a lace nightie and I didn’t even consider it until now. You did an awesome job of keeping it classy.
    As to your question about outdoor shots, etc… I wear sunglasses and feel less exposed… as if not being able to see my eyes means that people can’t see me… I don’t know how it works but it does. I also grow more confident with time- both time spent in the single session and time spent over the course of my blog. It gets easier to ignore the passersby, and when you’re racked with self-consciousness, just think that they are probably SO curious about you and what you’re doing. So just smile at the knowledge that you have completely intrigued and confused random strangers.
    Oh also, I LOVE the shoes!

  2. I have to give you credit for being so creative and working your nightclothes into dayclothes. I wouldn’t have known if you didn’t say.

  3. Danielle–this turned out great! I like the mix of colors and your guy deserves a hug for helping out with the photos. I like seeing you out of doors!

  4. Your baby bump is so cute wrapped in lace. Love the outdoor shots. It’s weird at first but you get over people starring at you, trust me. Your bracelet is stunning by the way.
    Cheers,
    Bre

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

