>they just don’t get what’s going down.

>

Cue curly hair from this post. Yep, this was my outfit of the night for date night at Vincenzo’s. YUMMY!!! I did get a few weird looks for colored tights and my oxfords, but I’m ok with that. You see, I live in a college town. If I’m dressed up more than uggs and sweats I can look out of place. For those of you that blog from smaller towns how do you deal with being more “fashion forward” than the rest?

The Scoop
Dress- Thrifted (Maurice)
Jacket- Target
Tights- Target
Shoes- Payless

Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, Twitter, or by Email
  Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
22 thoughts on “>they just don’t get what’s going down.

  1. >You look great with curly hair and I love your oufit – give me coloured tights and brogues over uggs and sweats any day lady! I don't think smaller towns are the only ones to suffer – modern society is so much more dressed down than it used to be. If I wear anything other than jeans and trainers on the weekends in London I can also look out of place. I think you jus t have to hold your head up high and go with what you want to wear!

  2. >I'm so surprised by this! Where I live students are the MOST fashion forward dressers. They've got so much time on their hands to make up random outfits and hunt for treasure. I used to wear some proper ridiculous stuff when I was an undergrad.

  3. >And Veshoevious, I can't believe dressing up is looked on as strangely in London, supposed capital of fashion! I have seriously never felt I stood out due to dressing up,ever and I actually dress up more on the weekends than during the week. And Edinburgh is not half as fashion forward as Glasgow, it actually has a staid reputation. Weird.

  4. >Just bask in the glory of knowing that you know more about style and fashion. 🙂 Or something like that. Really just be confident in the fact that you're able to have fun with what you wear. How much fun can uggs and sweats be?

  5. >I am SO in love with the colors in this outfit! I think I really need some more olive in my life. Definitely.And the curly hair is WONDERFUL. Seriously. 🙂

  6. >I love this post! haha I live in a small town, so my oxfords and bright tights frighten many a people. When I was in college, EVERYONE but me wore sweatpants. My advice? Laugh and smile your way through it! haha I learned to love what I wore and laugh at the weird looks I received. They are secretly jealous of your bravery and confidence anyway, so just smile. : )

  7. >Ahh smal college towns and their love of PINK sweats. I used to feel weird when I first started "dressing up". Now, I honestly don't even notice if people look at me and think I'm a SoCal tourist 🙂

  8. >You look great! Love the tights and especially the hair. I often felt a bit flashy or just generally crazy in my small town when I was growing up. Even in my neighborhood in Chicago I sometimes get some stares, but they're reasonably uncommon. Oh, the urban/rural divide! And here I thought I was the only one writing about it… 🙂

  9. >I really like this look. I live in a little town (7,000), but work in a metropolitan area–as many of my neighbors also do. Sometimes, little towns are where the fashionistas hide out.

  10. >I know what you mean. I am from a college town and a rather small town at that. I get weird looks for my overly colorful outfits and the other day this waitress did a very obvious triple take at my seychelles ankle boots… and never said anything to me. I just chucked. I used to feel weird about people giving me off looks over the way I dress, but I've gotten to a point where I just tell myself "if you can think you can rock it, then you can." and then i just go with it. Plus half of the time people stare because they wish THEY could pull off what you're wearing.

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

