>Friend Friday: We are who we are

>

 If you listen to even the smallest amount of pop radio I’m sure you’ve heard Kesha’s song We are who we are. It is a catchy little song. It gets on some people’s nerves, and some have parts of it posted as their Facebook status. In case you haven’t heard it here is the chorus.
Tonight we’re going hard
Just like the world is ours
We’re tearin’ it apart
You know we’re superstars
We are who we are!
We’re dancing like we’re dumb
Our bodies go numb
We’ll be forever young
You know we’re superstars
We are who we are!
A lot of that can apply to fashion bloggers, but what about the little guys?!? The bloggers that don’t get sponsored, or sent free samples. The bloggers that remix the crap out of there closets, because, they have a limited income and bills to pay. Well, last week the FBFF group talked about our blog goals for 2011. This week we are talking about how we may or not be discouraged, because, we don’t measure up to (Name That Famous Fashion Blogger). Remember, you are who you are and your perfect because of that!
1. Have you ever looked at someone’s blog and thought yours will never measure up?
Honestly, yes at the very beginning. However, in the six short months I’ve been blogging I’ve blown myself out of the water. I may not be famous yet, but I’m sure having fun doing it. Isn’t that all that matters anyway? 
 Sure, I will probably jump up and down, call Nate screaming, and be speechless the first time someone offers to sponsor my little blog. I’m sure you did/will do the same thing.
2. Do you (did you) feel pressure to meet some kind of undefined standard for fashion bloggers?
No, there isn’t a book on how to be a fashion blogger for a reason. There are so many ways to go about it that I just pick and choose what works for me. I may see something someone does and like it so much I come up with my own way to do it, but I don’t think I have to do anything.
3. Many established fashion bloggers are also extraordinary DIYers, bakers, and crafty people. Do you think you need to combine all these things to be successful at blogging.
Gee…I hope not!!! I can do simple DIYs, but that is the extent of my craftiness. I’m a dancer, and that is my thing. I’m actually working on a project now to hopefully show you why I love doing what I do so much!
4. The most successful blogs are the ones that have their own personal voice. How are you developing your voice, or how did you find yours?
I guess I don’t know if I’ve found my voice or not. I just say what I feel like saying, how I feel like saying it. Sometimes, that means my post is witty, and will make you laugh. While other times dry humor kicks in, and surprisingly some people don’t like dry humor. Sarcasm for that matter too. Shocking I know!
5. Toot your own horn…What’s one thing your do that is unique to you and your blog? What gives your blog an edge?
Hmmm…I don’t know about that one. I guess in the comments you will have to let me know. Don’t gush too much, or I might blush!
To view the other bloggers’ answers take a look at Katy’s post. Now excuse me as I go back to the son, and make the hipsters fall in love, because, I’ve got my hot pants on enough. 😉
 
Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, Twitter, or by Email Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
17 thoughts on “>Friend Friday: We are who we are

  1. >God I must be old I have no idea who that song is by or what is sounds like!!Your positive attitude in answering the questions is infectous!"I just say what I feel like saying, how I feel like saying it" – to me that is best way because that is your voice and that is what I think gives yours (and a lot of blogs) an edge – the personality of the blogger shines through in the posts!I'd love to see your dance project!

  2. >I definitely got a little nerd-style excited when I got my first sponsorship offer. Then I thought, "Wait, what does this MEAN?!" As in, do I even want to allow advertising on my blog? How will getting free stuff change my blog? Will it change ME? I'm happy to say that I don't think it has. But then, maybe that's just because I haven't heard that song. :)I appreciate the honesty of these answers. Having fun really is what matters!

  3. >Yes – fun it the reason I'm doing it, too! And no, there isn't a book on this. Every blog seems so different and unique. And that's the way it should be!Can't wait to see what you share about dancing. I'm a dancing want to be. I'd LOVE to have that talent.The Auspicious Life

  4. >I am a poor man from the African region, I need money to survive by comment on your blogs / forums or guestbook to make my website appear in search engine. Here are the list of my websites (Vimax, vimax, penis enlargement, penis enlargement pills, bigger penis, penis enlargement pills, penis enlargement, download youtube videos, penis enlargement pills) [URL=http://www.buypenisenlargement.com]bigger penis[/URL][URL=http://www.buypenisenlargement.com]penis enlargement pills[/URL][URL=http://www.male-sexual-styles.com]penis enlargement[/URL][URL=http://vimax3-4.com]vimax[/URL][URL=http://www.vimax-pills.org]vimax[/URL] PLEASE SEND YOUR HELP BY APPROVING MY COMMENT!Regards: PoormanBHS2011

  5. >Yes – fun it the reason I'm doing it, too! And no, there isn't a book on this. Every blog seems so different and unique. And that's the way it should be!Can't wait to see what you share about dancing. I'm a dancing want to be. I'd LOVE to have that talent.The Auspicious Life

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

