>Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout…What’s that smell?

>It can happen to anyone. It doesn’t discriminate against age, gender, or status level. It can come out of no place, and hit you like a ton of bricks. Some feel it slowly sinking in its claws for months before they finally have to deal with it. I’m talking about the awful Blogger Burnout Monster.


This week Friend Friday* bloggers are talking about how they run a blog without it running you.

1. How many hours a week do you spend blogging? Has that number
changed since you started blogging?
First off how do you define blogging? If I’m just talking about the hours it takes to simply publish a weeks worth of posts I would guess around 10-13 hours. If you want to know all of the hours spent promoting, reading and commenting on other blogs, and developing new features and blog design the number is much higher. I don’t really keep track, because, so much of that is done here and there at random intervals.

2. There is always more you can do, write, read, comment on… how do
you limit your time spent on these tasks?
My schedule is pretty good about limiting the time I have to do those things automatically. It would be impossible to try and do any of those things while teaching a dance class.

3. Have you experienced Blogger burnout yet? How have you dealt with
that?
Not really. I’m still a new blogger, and haven’t had time to get burnout yet. I did take a break from posting, so I could build up a buffer of posts. I guess that was preventive medicine for me. I knew my schedule was going to stay busy, and I didn’t want to be always up late trying to get tomorrow’s post ready.

4. This time of the year is always a lot busier than any other time.
Will your blogging change as a result?
I don’t anticipate my blogging change during the holidays. I could be wrong, but only time will tell.

5. Could you forsee a moment in which
you are not blogging anymore?
How would you you identify that it’s time to walk away?
I have a hard time envisioning myself not blogging anymore, but I’m sure it could happen. I just enjoy it so much right now, but I’m sure if I felt it was more of a chore I would take a break. If I noticed that I was feeling more at peace not blogging, and didn’t look forward to returning I would be comfortable calling it quits.

Friend Friday is a group developed by Katy of Modly Chic. Visit her page to see a list of all the bloggers participating.

Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, and Twitter 
Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
7 thoughts on “>Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout…What’s that smell?

  1. >I agree…I can't really imaging not blogging. Even if it's not the same subject, I love blogging. Great answers…you seem to have a good handle on balancing blog time with real world time.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  2. >I was interested in seeing your answers because you manage to do outfit posts, the 30 x 30 challenge, hold down three jobs and you're a mother of a toddler! Pretty amazing going if you ask me! I am in particularly in awe of mum bloggers as friends of mind just had kids and have since literally disappeared. And you manage to find 10 – 13 hours to blog. You are superwoman!

  3. >I count all the hours reading other blogs and promoting my own as time spent blogging, which is why I think the amount of time has grown over the months. I didn't have as many great blogs to read or people I was interested in when this whole process started. – Katy

  4. >I count all the hours reading other blogs and promoting my own as time spent blogging, which is why I think the amount of time has grown over the months. I didn't have as many great blogs to read or people I was interested in when this whole process started. – Katy

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

