>Friend Friday: All I hear is Blah, Blah, self-promotion

>

I’m sure most bloggers are like me and love receiving comments. Honestly, I have the email notifications on my phone. I read all of them, and when my schedule slows down for just a second I try and reciprocate the comments on your respective blogs. As much as we all love the comments; what do you think when you get an overly generic comment? Or a possible cookie cutter, copy and paste, “love the blog…it’s my new favorite. Check out my blog at blahblahblah.com” Today’s Friend Friday has to do with blogger self-promotion. Check out the post that inspired Katy from Modlychic‘s questions today.

1. How do you promote your blog? 

I interact with current and potential readers both on my blog and theirs. If I am commenting on a post I try and find some specifics about the outfit or post content that I like. That way I don’t just say ,”OMG love this outfit!” I find that the blogs I’m more likely to check out are those that put some effort into the comment. I keep that in mind when I leave comments. I will admit I include my blog link in my comments. I do this, because, I have two blogs. I’ve often had someone leave a comment on my other blog that should have obviously been posted on this blog. I’m assuming they found the other blog via my profile, and didn’t take the time to look before clicking.
2. In your experience what has been the most effective form of self
promotion? 
I’ve gotten the most out of joining groups such as specific boards on IFB, Friend Friday, and Kendi’s 30 for 30 challenge. Not only are they fun, it gets you out there too.

3. Do you think there is a wrong way to promote yourself and your
blog? 
Not being genuine to yourself. Don’t comment on a blog that is obviously not your style just to put yourself out there. Don’t get me wrong. We can all be inspired by anyone even if they are different from our normal style, and commenting to tell them you were inspired by something they shared is great. Like I said just be genuine about it.

4. When is comes to others pushing their product what annoys you? 
Hmmm…I think the point I made earlier about the fashion bloggers commenting on my other blog when it has nothing to do with what was posted. I generally dislike comments that don’t have any sort of feedback to them. Good or bad it doesn’t bother me. 
5. In Dressful’s post on this topic earlier in the week she said,
“It’s impossible to respect someone who wants all the attention, but
adds nothing worthwhile to the conversation.” Do you agree?
That is a tricky one, but I’m leaning toward agreeing with this one. I know a few attention divas in real life, and I still respect them. Mostly, that is because I know that they just have a flair for drama. Down inside, they are great people
Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, and Twitter 
Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
5 thoughts on “>Friend Friday: All I hear is Blah, Blah, self-promotion

  1. >I know I can fall into the trap of writing "Great outfit" and leave it at that. But it takes time to write a skillful comment that not only benefits the blog site owner but peaks interest for the commenter, if this person has a blog as well.Self-promotion is necessary in the blogging world and as long as you are true to yourself, people will keep coming back. Btw, I do love your outfit remixes since they're simple, basic, and quite figure flattering! =)

  2. >i totally agree with all of this…"OMG i love this outfit.." hahaha..i dont mind when people do it..but they can at least add some more words the next time they stop by…bc i know they can not love ALL my outfits. :)i hope you are having fun on the 30for30… i sat out this time..i was a chicken. boo.have a great weekend love.xoox

  3. >thanks for this information[url=http://bradhsfxga.terapad.com/index.cfm?fa=contentGeneric.sucmiugojmahtdia]برامج[/url][url=http://bradhsfxga.terapad.com/index.cfm?fa=contentGeneric.sucmiugojmahtdia]برامج التحميل[/url]

  4. >i totally agree with all of this…"OMG i love this outfit.." hahaha..i dont mind when people do it..but they can at least add some more words the next time they stop by…bc i know they can not love ALL my outfits. :)i hope you are having fun on the 30for30… i sat out this time..i was a chicken. boo.have a great weekend love.xoox

  5. >I know I can fall into the trap of writing "Great outfit" and leave it at that. But it takes time to write a skillful comment that not only benefits the blog site owner but peaks interest for the commenter, if this person has a blog as well.Self-promotion is necessary in the blogging world and as long as you are true to yourself, people will keep coming back. Btw, I do love your outfit remixes since they're simple, basic, and quite figure flattering! =)

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

