>Social Networking: Smart tool or another way to feel like you don’t make the cut?

>

I read a great article by V from Grit and Glamour about why she isn’t on “fashion” networking sites recently. I began thinking about regular social networking sites too. Almost everyone has a Facebook, Twitter, or something similar for personal use. Some blogs use these social sites to promote there blog with amazing results. I know that it has to do with the work they put into it too. However, I feel like some people, including myself on occasion, just don’t make the cut.
Have you posted a status that was really thought provoking, and you can get nothing back? While someone else talks about there lunch, and they get likes and comments right away. When Friday rolls around, and everyone is tweeting #ff @soandso, do you feel like the last kid picked in gym class when you don’t get mentioned?

Remember, some of the results from these sites are undercover too. I may not get replies, re-tweets, likes, or recommended for Follow Friday. Yet, when I take a look at my analytics I do notice a trend of people clicking through from the links to my blog posts on these sites. Some of these are people that don’t or wouldn’t follow via more traditional subscription options. My take is that these options are a positive tool to use as long as you don’t let yourself get in a funk.

  As the person in charge of building you blog’s readership it is important to use all of the methods of promotion you have access to. That means RSS feeds, Twitter, Facebook, networks like IFB, and good old fashion word of mouth contact too.The key to building a good base is making following your blog as simple and convenient as possible. For some that may be checking their email and getting your blog subscription that way. While others check there Twitter or Facebook accounts on there phones while in a waiting room.

Getting them to stay is another story. Just remember content is important for everything: blog posts, updates, tweets, and how you mention your blog in an everyday situation. They are all equally important. You are your “brand” 24/7. How do you want people to remember you?

What social tools do you use? How do you feel about them? Do you think they are not worth the extra effort? If you have any questions about analizing your analytics please ask, or check out Modly Chic’s article about it here.

Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, and Twitter 
Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
11 thoughts on “>Social Networking: Smart tool or another way to feel like you don’t make the cut?

  1. >That is a really good blog post, thank you for sharing your thoughts on this. Blog followers, tweet followers, facebook 'likers'… they all boost our self esteem a little bit..this crazy online world we live in!

  2. >Honestly, I think it takes time to "make the cut" or make an impact. I've had my twitter for two years, and have just recently (over the past year) gained a bunch of followers. But I also follow a lot of people.Same with blogging- I've been blogging for a year and a half. You can't expect to just write something and have everyone see it. Look at Kendi's 30 for 30. Last time she did it, she had 50 people join her. This time she has 337 people joining her. That proves that things take time (and that things need to be a good idea to make an impact).I understand how you feel, because I felt similarly when I first started blogging, and it took some time to realize it was my reach that needed some tweaking. I think you're doing good things by commenting, tweeting and making connections. Sometimes people won't respond, but they read/understand what you're saying.

  3. >I read Glit's post also and it really does express how I'm sure many bloggers feel. Sometimes, I feel like I'm back in HS and watching the "Cool Kids"! LOL And it feels weird because I'm so much older than all of them! There is no way I can offer up what they offer. But I do have something to offer and to say. For me, I'm working on streamlining my blog and working with a purpose rather than to just get noticed. It's easy to fall into that and I've found myself getting discouraged after only a couple of months. Which is ridiculous on my part! I started a blog to express myself and share my style and my thoughts on style….not to be voted most popular. Well, as I type this, I'm just reminding myself that there is room on the web for everyone and it's up to ME to develop my niche, my brand and my place. Thanks for the thoughtful post!~Serene

  4. >I think time is really important.I also think some social networking is important too. For instance, when random commenters comment on my blog I find them and comment back. If they come again, then I will do the same thing. BUT leaving meaningful comments has been the best thing for me. I understand what you are saying. For instance I have chictopia and totally feel like I don't make it there. But I have meet some cute bloggers there. I don't use FB or Twitter to sell my blog. I don't think of it as selling my blog either. If people like the content and want to get to know me they will follow. I think being honest is key. Also I have noticed joining things like Friend Friday help because it is a common interest so it is easy to make friends. Lastly I think posting often is key.

  5. >I'm fairly new in the fashion blog world and I only relay on commenting .I take good care of my blog and my posts and lately i get some feedback.I go slow ,enjoy the experience and have no idea how it will go in the future.When things don't go that well I just remind myself I started the blog for fun.Great post.I'm one of Kendi's challenge remixer so I wish you Happy remixing!

  6. >While I am new to fashion bloggings, I consider myself an avid networker. I try to always leave feedback and reply to those who give me feedback. It may seem weird to apply the phrase "practice makes perfect," but it's true. The more you use sites like facebook and twitter, the more you'll pick up on what works and what doesn't. I've been on facebook for 3-4 years, and anytime I post a status I get several responses. I'm starting to get better on twitter as well, and I hope it will eventually translate to blogging.Great article! It has really given me some insight. Now off to check facebook…-Leehttp://beautifuldayfashion.blogspot.com/

  7. >Interesting topic…I think social media is one of those things that is really hard to explain what works. I definitely wonder why, even though I have over 90 "likes" on Facebook and I ask questions nearly every day, why no one ever answers. But I'm not going to stop asking questions. It took months to get regular comments on posts. I use social media for personal reasons in addition to blog reasons, and have found that as long as I'm having fun, I don't mind that I'm not as popular as some people. Who knows when others will pick up on it. But you know…I'd rather keep going and waiting for that point than quitting and not being around to see when it happens.

  8. >While I am new to fashion bloggings, I consider myself an avid networker. I try to always leave feedback and reply to those who give me feedback. It may seem weird to apply the phrase "practice makes perfect," but it's true. The more you use sites like facebook and twitter, the more you'll pick up on what works and what doesn't. I've been on facebook for 3-4 years, and anytime I post a status I get several responses. I'm starting to get better on twitter as well, and I hope it will eventually translate to blogging.Great article! It has really given me some insight. Now off to check facebook…-Leehttp://beautifuldayfashion.blogspot.com/

  9. >I think time is really important.I also think some social networking is important too. For instance, when random commenters comment on my blog I find them and comment back. If they come again, then I will do the same thing. BUT leaving meaningful comments has been the best thing for me. I understand what you are saying. For instance I have chictopia and totally feel like I don't make it there. But I have meet some cute bloggers there. I don't use FB or Twitter to sell my blog. I don't think of it as selling my blog either. If people like the content and want to get to know me they will follow. I think being honest is key. Also I have noticed joining things like Friend Friday help because it is a common interest so it is easy to make friends. Lastly I think posting often is key.

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

