>Friend Friday: Going Natural

>

This week we are taking a deeper look of the beauty side of the Fashion Beauty Friend Friday. We are talking about taking are beauty routines over to the Green Side. Take a look at the brains behind this group by visiting Katy over at ModlyChic. She also will have a complete list of my fellow bloggers participating this week.

1. The move to do away with soap, shampoo and deodorant has been
growing in popularity in the last year. What are your thoughts on this
trend?
I wouldn’t say we should do away with them all together, but using greener choices isn’t a bad thing at all. When lessening the use of some of the products, or switching to an alternative item can be done without loosing the effectiveness I’m all for giving it a go.

2. Be honest how often do you wash your own hair?
I shampoo my hair probably two times a week. However, every third shower I wash with conditioner. That way I avoid the greasy look by getting it wet, but I still keep it moisturized.

3. Have you tried to go the more natural route by forgoing shampoo?
What happened? Or would you be tempted to try it?
I absolutely can’t forgo shampoo, or I end up with some of the greasiest hair I’ve ever seen. As I mentioned in question #2 I use other alternative means of “washing” my hair. Also, I use dry shampoo on the occasion I still need to soak up a little extra oil.
I found a good article about going sans suds, but I agree with the writer that this is a better option for culry/coarse hair. Straight strands like mine I feel need to be washed every now and then, or else you end up with oily, limp hair.

4. What products do you use and have you ever gone with more organic
alternatives?
Goodness, I don’t think I can list all of the products I use here. Maybe, I should do a separate post for that post sometime. However, I have tried a few more organic options with unsatisfied results. I tried Tom’s toothpaste, but really disliked the flavor. (hate is to strong of a word) I have also tried there deodorant. I’ll be honest with this one I don’t think I smelled bad, but I need an antiperspirant also.

5. What about that daily shower? Would you forgo that opting to shower
three times a week instead?
As a dancer anytime I have or teach a class I shower when I get home. If I truly did nothing all day to dirty myself I would try to shower only three times a week, but for me it just isn’t practical.



Feel free to join in the debate below!
Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, and Twitter 
Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
6 thoughts on “>Friend Friday: Going Natural

  1. >I use some Burt's Bees toothpaste that is really pretty decent! And I agree any workout definitely requires some sort of cleaning!

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

