Friend Friday: The baby steps of blogging

Today all of the Friend Friday Bloggers are talking about building there blogs. See ModlyChic’s post for a list of all the bloggers following her in this weeks discussion. As always, feel free to join in the discussion. 
Sidenote: Whenever, I think about the term baby steps I don’t think of my daughter’s first steps I think about the movie What about Bob? Has anybody seen it? Is it just me that thinks about that movie when they hear the term?
1. How has your blog changed over the months/years you’ve been
blogging?
I only started my blog in June. It has changed a lot since that 
first post. I’ve bought a tripod, learned how to edit photos a bit, messed around with my template design, and figured out what posts I like to offer. Over all the basis of my blog has remained the same. I still feature affordable fashion.

2. What was one thing you did wrong in the beginning and how have you changed that?
I’m still in the beginning. I’m sure I have/am doing things wrong, but I’m still figuring that out. I think the biggest surprise to me is how fast I would gain readers. My mistakes surrounding that is I didn’t take time in the very beginning to encourage my readers to discuss the post, and not building connections with other writers.

3. When you visit a blog what’s the greatest turn off? The thing that
makes you close the tab?
One word: Music

4. How did you find your voice?
See answer two…I’m still working on it.Do I have a voice yet?  I think my voice is a young, busy mom who likes to look nice, but doesn’t have time or money to always buy new things.

5. If you had three pieces of advice to give to a new blogger what
would those be?
The best advice I can think of is if you are writing about something you would read you can guarantee somebody else will be interested too. You just have to take time to allow yourself to build bridges, and really connect with other bloggers. After all, most blog readers are blog writers too.
Follow No Guilt Fashion on Bloglovin, Facebook, and Twitter 
Got a question? Ask me at Formspring
5 thoughts on “Friend Friday: The baby steps of blogging

  1. Hello, fellow Friend Friday-er! It's nice to finally be able to work my way round everyone – there are so many members now! I am so with you on music.Good work on your readers – that's brilliant for just a few months. I remember the excitement I felt when I first received a comment from someone I didn't know. Ace. 🙂

  2. I'm really enjoying everyone's "three tips". The part about blog readers being blog writers is so true. The community that springs up around this doesn't just happen – it has to be maintained. I'll be thinking of ways to engage my readers in the content a bit more – I think that's something you do well.

  3. >I'm really enjoying everyone's "three tips". The part about blog readers being blog writers is so true. The community that springs up around this doesn't just happen – it has to be maintained. I'll be thinking of ways to engage my readers in the content a bit more – I think that's something you do well.

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

