Friend Friday: Fashion Week

This weeks Friend Friday is a little hard for me to answer. The topic is Fashion Week. While I thoroughly enjoy fashion. I wouldn’t say I am necessarily “Current” on the field of fashion. It is only withing the last couple of months that I have started to seriously put some thought into what I wear and purchase. That being said, be sure to hop on over to our fabulous host Katie’s blog ModlyChic. She has a page that will tell you how you can become apart of Friend Friday, as well as, her Friend Friday post that will have links to all of the participating bloggers. Check them all out. It is great reading everyone’s answers.


1. Do you pay attention to the shows during fashion week? Which designers collections are you looking forward to seeing? I did a little research, and a few shows I would be interested in seeing, if I actually had the time, our BCBGMAXAZRIA, Betsey Johnson, and Z Spokes by Zac Posen. There are several others that looked interesting, but I don’t know much about the designers.

2. Where are you getting your Fashion Week news from?
Most of my news is coming from fellow bloggers via Twitter. It wasn’t purely Fashion Week related, but Grit and Glamour did a wonderful job keeping us updated on the Independent Fashion Bloggers conference. Thanks V! P.S. Check out her blog too. Girls got game!

3. Over the years the runway has become more than just models displaying the creations of a designer. They are now spectacles. Do you think that adds or detracts from the fashion?
I think the spectacles that shows have become adds to the experience. Fashion isn’t just about the clothing anymore, fashion is for the senses too. Why do so many people tune in to watch the Victoria Secret show every year? It isn’t just for the girls in underwear, it is for the whole shebang. Plus, designers aren’t necessarily putting out everyday kind of clothes. Some of the stuff out there would look quite odd if someone was to simply walk down the runway.

4. Twice a year, as models begin to strut the catwalk we see articles about model size and body image. Do you think the super thin models are offering an unattainable goal to the public or are we immune to their looks?
I’m fairly small myself, and even I am not immune to there looks. However, I know that I’m never going to look like the girls on the runways. I know without a doubt society as a whole is not immune. I’ve had a friend or two I’ve had to talk down from unrealistic goals set by what is in a magazine. Beauty isn’t a number, it’s who you are.

5. If you could sit front row at any show what would you want to see? And which celebrity would you want to be sitting next to?
I can’t answer this one. Too many great choices.

3 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Fashion Week

  1. I really like your answers! Especially about the runway spectacle question, you made a really good point that some of the clothes would look really odd just walking 'cold' down the runway!

  2. Hey doll, thank you SO MUCH for the shout! So sweet of you! You're right…beauty isn't a number, and it's not just what's on the outside, right?♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

