Pool Party

Yay!!! The overcast day left behind by Friday’s morning showers did ended up burning off, and we where able to have Lyla’s pool party after all. I will admit I was a little worried about it in the morning, but by the time I got off work the only things I had to worry about was going to Sam’s Club to finish my snack food shopping in time. In the end it turned out just fine, and Lyla was very happy swimming, and opening presents. The item that registered highest on the excitement scale?!? Neon pink, high top Chucks. I’m sure you will see her sporting them around the blog posts soon enough. They were cheap too. We got them on our vacation for $12.00 or close to that. I love how easy it is to please her with gifts. Besides, the big stuffed dog we gave her on her actual birthday everything was practical gifts like clothes, shoes, and coloring books. Leave it to the grandparents to spoil her with dolls, sandboxes, and Little People play sets.

I’ve been debating about the color of this “dress” since I got it last summer. I thought it was black, and maybe it was whenever it was brand new. I decided today that it is definitely navy blue now. Oh well for a second hand item it still looks in pretty good condition. By the way I say dress in quotes, because, Express labeled it a dress. However, there is no way I could get away with wearing it as a dress. So a tunic top it is for me!

The Scoop
really short dress: Express via The Black Market
pants: NY and Co.
Shoes: Target

After deciding at work that the tunic was in fact navy I realized I was wearing black and silver shoes. You can’t tell that from the pictures they just look black. Oh well. Kendi from Kendi Everyday was talking about fashion rules and breaking some regarding color combos. Without knowing it I did the same as her and mixed black and navy blue. I think we both pulled it off without looking like a bruise. Would you tell me if I did? 

How do you feel about “fashion rules”? What are some of your favorite rules to break, or color combo no-nos to be a rebel and rock anyway? Like the saying goes, “rules are meant to be broken.” I think the fashion world that makes these rules would be quite boring if designers and style savvy consumers didn’t bend, break, or bust right through them.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway. You only have till midnight CST on Sunday.

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

