Friend Friday: Conspicous Consumption

 Friend Friday is brought to you by Modly Chic. Today, it is all about conspicous consumption. In case you are confused by the phrase conspicuous consumption… Wikipedia’s definition is pretty straightforward: “lavish spending on goods and services acquired mainly for the purpose of displaying income or wealth.”

1. Do you think fashion blogs are often just conspicuous consumption? Are some? Not all fashion blogs lean that way. I will say that there are a few that come across as bragging, and those have slowly fallen off of my reading list.

2. As bloggers do we have the obligation to explain our personal financial status, how we pay for the things we showcase, if we have debt, etc…  No. I do however think we shouldn’t hide who we are. I am not someone who has a endless cash flow, and I don’t shop or blog like I do either. Take a look at The Scoop that I include with each outfit post, and you will see that I don’t own designer items. I shop at Target ladies and gents.

3. Critics often say that fashion bloggers should use their money to support more worthwhile causes than clothing themselves in a different outfit daily. What’s your reaction to this? I don’t spend an outrageous amount on clothing. I re-wear things until they either don’t fit anymore, or have basically been worn to death. The cost per wear of most of my items is very low.

Also, I do give to worthwhile causes. I do believe in tithing 10% of my income to my church. I also believe that donating time is just as important as donating money. Donating time is one thing I do a lot of.

4. Since you started blogging, do you spend more money on fashion and beauty products? No. It may be tempting, because, who wants to follow me if I wear the same things all of the time. That is where I challenge myself to wear different combinations, or find a new use for something. That keeps things interesting enough for me. Again, I try an be realistic. I don’t know anyone that can wear things once, and then forget about them.

5. Life is about more than what money can buy. What are the things that top your list of what life is all about? My family is very important to me. I also love expressing myself through dance or choreography and neither of those can be bought.


One thought on “Friend Friday: Conspicous Consumption

  1. Great answers. I like your answer about challenging yourself and being realistic.One day I would love to see a photo of you dancing. I know how important dancing is to you.(You have bragging rights on that one)Thanks for the shout out. You are too kind. and…hooray for free shoes!

Tell me what is on your mind. You can always email me too. danie@noguiltfashion.com

